Members Elected, Others Recognized at National Convention

Deb Kunce FAIA, senior AIA Ohio Valley Regional Director was elected Friday, May 13th, 2011 as one of the two, Second Vice Presidents to the AIA National Board of Directors.  Deb was selected from a field of four members seeking the position.  AIA Ohio congratulates Deb on her successful run for the Vice President position. The elections were a result of many months of hard work by all candidates that began at this years Grassroots in February with voting taking place on Thursday and Friday during the convention. Again, our congratulations to Deb on her successful campaign. Also on Friday, AIA Cleveland member Wayne Mortensen Assoc. AIA was elected by the NAC members as Chair of the National Associates Committee.  AIA Ohio Congratulates Wayne on this significant achievement.

In addition to the elections, a number of members were recognized at the AIA National Convention in New Orleans. As announced earlier this year, two members were elevated to Fellowship.  They were Deb Kunce FAIA, AIA Indianapolis and Jud Kline FAIA, AIA Cleveland.  Also recognized was Jack Baumann, AIA from AIA Akron who was one of eleven honored with the Young Architects Award.  Recipients were chosen for their significant contributions to the profession at an early stage of their career. AIA Ohio Valley member Sanford Garner AIA, from Indianapolis was also recognized as a Young Architect Award recipient.  During the convention, AIA Ohio’s Director of Services Kate Brunswick, CAE, Hon AIA, was officially recognized as an Honorary Member of the Institute.  Kate was nominated last year with her selection announced during Grassroots in February.  For over eleven years, Kate has served AIA Ohio and the Ohio Valley with the highest level of distinction.  We congratulate and thank Kate for service to AIA Ohio and the profession.

Congratulations to all AIA Ohio and AIA Ohio Valley members recognized for their service to the organization and profession.