The Ohio School Facilities Commission (OSFC) gave the go-head Thursday for the college-preparatory boarding school

program authorized by budget bill HB153 (Amstutz), and approved seven school districts for energy conservation funding.

OSFC Executive Director Richard Hickman had highlighted the new college-preparatory construction program in his yearend

report for FY11.


The relevant sections of HB153, which incorporate program language from companion bills HB221 and SB167, go into effect Sept. 29.  To be eligible for college-preparatory funding, a school’s board of trustees must secure at least $20 million in local matching funds.  “Acquisition of residential facilities and any other facilities other than classroom facilities must be funded by the board of trustees through private means,” the bill analysis says.


Members approved a resolution authorizing new rule language for the college-preparatory program.


OSFC Wednesday also approved updates to the state’s Exceptional Needs Program and Corrective Action Program. The

latter formerly allowed school districts to use corrective action funding toward the local share, but new rules will require

districts to raise required matching funds before qualifying for the program.


In addition, Hickman announced seven school districts seeking “significant energy conservation savings” through the

“HB264 Program” of the 117th General Assembly: Buckeye Local School District (Ashtabula County), Cloverleaf Local

(Medina County), Fort Recovery Local (Mercer County), Independence Local (Cuyahoga County), Jackson Local (Stark

County), Lynchburg-Clay Local (Highland County) and Rootstown Local (Portage County).


The school districts expect to see nearly $502,000 in annual energy savings through planned improvements to include

lighting upgrades, modernized boilers, building automation, and electronic air filtration, Hickman said. “Reducing energy costs and consumption is a major goal for school districts,” he said. “The savings generated through the HB264 program will allow these seven districts to upgrade their facilities and become more energy efficient. Furthermore, the energy savings will cover the cost of the financing used to fund the projects.”


During his monthly report, Hickman updated the commission on the 11 building dedications since OSFC last met on Aug.

11: Franklin Monroe (Darke County), Dayton City (Montgomery County), Akron City (Summit County), Cleveland Municipal

(Cuyahoga County), Reynoldsburg City (Franklin County), Lakota Local (Sandusky County), Miami East (Miami County),

Russia Local (Shelby County), and Lorain City (Lorain County).


Four other projects in Coshocton City School District, Eaton Community School District and Madison Local School District

also broke ground, Hickman said.


Eight more dedications are scheduled over the next month for Akron City, Fairfield Union Local (Fairfield County), Huber

Heights City (Montgomery County), Hamilton City (Butler County), and Wayne County Joint Vocational School District

(Wayne County). Two groundbreakings will also be held for Cory-Rawson Local (Hancock County) and Switzerland of Ohio

Local (Monroe County.